Help Desk: (814)865-HELP


The Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards (PCI-DSS) is a framework that is specifically applied to “merchants.” Merchants are, generally, anyone that accepts payment cards from any of the five following card providers: American Express, Discover, Mastercard, Visa, and JCB. PCI-DSS data is considered Restricted Data (Level 4) in Penn State’s Information Classification framework. The particular requirements of the PCI-DSS framework are very detailed.  Questions should be directed to OIS at


Here for PCI training? Here’s what you need to do:

Complete the PCI training module in the LRN

You’ll watch a brief video and learn some tips and tricks when working with credit card payments. To access the training, visit the LRN and enter “PCI” in the search bar. Select the training offered by the Office of Information Security (OIS).

Learn More about Skimming

“Skimming” is on the rise, and it poses a threat to credit card terminals. Read this brief summary to learn how you can fight skimming when dealing with credit card payments.

Learn How to Spot Fakes

Knowing the characteristics of each credit card company’s cards can help you spot fakes. Read this brief summary to learn more.